1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

5e MM and Player Handbook

Discussion in 'D&D 5th Edition' started by Golldan, Jul 19, 2018.

1. Golldan

Golldan Member

Hey All,
    Help me manage expectations/what am I supposed to get and see with 5e MM and PH... I have been using d20Pro for Pathfinder for a few months, and when the new 5e MM came out, it looked like a good time to check out how 5e would work under d20Pro. So upgraded to ver 3.7.3, downloaded MM and PHB, and set up a test DD 5e campaign to check out the new shinny things.

Note, most of my posts/errors end up being user error somewhere... so I do not expect much different here.

In dropping in some Monsters to test combat, like a Glabreazu... I do not see any Spells they are set up to use, so are Innate Spellcasting spells not a part of what you get?

So for the spells, in the Pathfinder campaign, we are mananging outside/old fashioned way. That whole blue screen spell Flow is beyond me at this point, and thinking that these two products MM and PHB would be great to automate the combat without me having to block code the Spell flow. But many spells (fireball, burning hands, etc.)show up as: upload_2018-7-19_9-35-4.png

Now I could be clicking on the wrong target, or something else as I have not really used the spell features in combat, but I can get some spells to work, like area effect spells like Darkness and Fog Cloud, and self spells like Alter self put the status markers on the PC.

Guide Spell Decision-
    upload_2018-7-19_10-10-32.png

My Spell Decision-
    upload_2018-7-19_10-12-11.png