1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

Brand New to the game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jetewabbie, Jan 28, 2015.

1. jetewabbie

jetewabbie New Member

I am brand new to D&D. I played a few games in high school back in the 80's. (showing my age :roll: ) I would like to learn D&D and play on d20pro. I backed the kickstarter. I have 4 boys I would like to teach to play in the future but I need to learn it first.
    My question is, what is the best way to learn how to play. I guess I need to learn D&D first and then how to play it on d20. Or can both be learned at the same time. I would love to play on d20 with a group but being a complete newb I guess it would be hard to find one.

2. ChrisRevocateur

Using d20Pro when you're first learning would probably be a terrible crutch honestly. It automates enough that you probably wouldn't internalize and really learn the rules. Depending on what edition you're using (I assume either 3.5 or Pathfinder), the best start is probably by reading the Player's Handbook (Core Rulebook for Pathfinder), beginning with the Combat chapter, followed by Skills, then Feats (you don't have to read up on every skill and every feat, just the beginnings of these chapters, as they spell out how skills and feats work). Follow that up by skimming the Classes and Races chapters.