1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

Port Forwading Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vol, Sep 18, 2009.

1. Vol

Vol New Member

I figured I would start a new post specifically about port forwarding and connection issues. Gotta say I'm frustrated at this point and need some guidance from the sages. Here's the scoop with full caveat that I am a port forwarding noob...

1. Tried to set up a session with my buddies only to have them get 'connection timed out' and refused connection errors.
    2. Opened all my firewalls to no avail.
    3. Attempted to set up a port forward by first setting up a static IP address for my host PC and then configuring a the forward on my router using the default port and TCP as the protocol. I set the Device IP Address to the static IP I just set up. I tried both leaving the Public IP blank and populated with my router's public IP address. No go on any of the attempts regardless of whether I gave my friends the static IP address or the Public IP address.

It still appears nothing is getting through. What am I doing wrong here? Is this an issue with my ISP (Verizon FIOS)? Am I not setting up the addressing right? Would choosing a different port matter?????
    Please advise. I really like the overall features of the product but am loathe to purchase a license if I can't set up a remote game.
    Help me Obi-Wan you're my only hope.
    Vol

2. BrashFink

BrashFink New Member

Two key pieces of information missing here...

1) what the brand of router you are using?
    2) What security/firewall software are you using?