1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

I there a way to preload stuff?

Discussion in 'User Created Content' started by Vilrandir, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Vilrandir

Vilrandir New Member

Hi guys !
    I started playing yesterday using d20 pro and we absolutely love it.
    I do have a question, though. We noticed that when I show a new map, it takes a considerable amount of time sending that map to the players and making it available for interaction. Is there a way I could pre-send a file with the maps and stuff so its already pre-loaded in their PCs? Thanks for your time and I look forward to contributing to the forums

2. edwardcd

edwardcd Administrator
    Staff Member

You can preload maps...

Here's how...

Change the map on your side (make sure the map has FoW on every square), press "Broadcast") Then go back to the map you were on before and continue (press broadcast again).

I usually pre-load maps while everyone is planning or gearing or while I'm describing NPC interactions. Then once they are loaded I re-broadcast the current map.

3. Vilrandir

Vilrandir New Member

edwardcd, thanks for replying, I'll try that next week.
    What about preloading before the actual game, is that possible? I was thinking since everything is stored in an actual file, maybe the maps can be sent before the game to people so the loading times wouldnt be too bad.
    Again, thanks for sharing your wisdom.

4. Golkiwu

Golkiwu Member