1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

New Game on d20pro starting.

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by kirish, May 14, 2011.

1. kirish

kirish New Member

Hello,
    I am new to d20pro. I am not new to DM'ing. I have been DM'ing regularly since 1988. I like to run long epic style campaigns. The system I am using is irrelevant. I don't like players getting lost in power gaming and missing the story lines (I dont mind character optimization I just don't like it when it becomes the reason to play...) So I am going to be using a homebrew version of the OSRIC rules. (If you google "OSRIC RPG" you can download a free copy of the open license rule rule book) This is basically 2.0 AD&D with a few 3.5 rules tossed in. The main one I am considering is skills rolls and Combat (not using the 10 to -10 AC system) and using positive number increase for additional difficulty. The character classes will be fairly simple to start. But highly customizable THROUGH gameplay. You will be able to add skills and abilities through a game mechanic wherein you utilize e.p. earned from adventuring to research new skills and abilities (EX1: A warrior wants a whirlwind attack. He emails the DM a list of what he wants it to do. The DM and Him negotiate a fair rule and then decide on an ep amount. This ep will not be used to level but for developing a specific skill. He will then start learning it. The DM may include personal quests like going and finding a specific trainer for a unique skill. Once the player has enough training ep earned he learns the new ability. Ex 2: A mage wants to learn how to cast sp