1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

Damage Resistance not correctly relating to damage type

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nilram the Grey, Jul 7, 2013.

1. Nilram the Grey

Nilram the Grey New Member

I'm a newbie, so I might have something wrong. I imported the Pathfinder creatures posted on the Pathfinder forum. I was playing around with some zombies fighting some goblins. When I use the Goblin bow attack (type piercing) the damage is being reduced by the zombie DR 5/slashing. When I use the goblin short sword attack (type slashing) there is no reduction of damage. I've checked and the DR seems to be setup right for the zombies and the type of damage on the different goblin attacks seems right as well.

2. edwardcd

edwardcd Administrator
    Staff Member

Re: Damage Reduction not correctly relating to damage type

This is a general rules question.

Rules
    Basically:
    25 DR / Slashing (requires a slashing weapon to overcome DR)
    25 DR / Magic (requires magical weapon to overcome DR)
    25 DR / Piercing (requires a piercing weapon to overcome DR)
    25 DR / - (nothing overcomes DR unless the attack itself ignores damage reduction)
    etc

Thus, d20Pro is correctly calculating DR in this case. :)

3. Nilram the Grey

Curtis,

Yep, no surprise the problem was me. ;)

Is there a way to reverse this? Most of the time characters or creatures have resistance to a single type of damage and not a resistance to all but one type of damage. I tried searching the user guide to no avail.