1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

Displaying Player Attack and Damage Rolls before Resolution

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ruanwindstorm, Jun 16, 2010.

1. ruanwindstorm

ruanwindstorm New Member

Hi, I'm new to d20Pro, and am currently testing it out with some of my group.

We place a lot of value on the mini-drama that goes along with PC dice-rolling in combat. Therefore when a player declares an attack in D20 pro, I'd like for them to be able to see their own roll BEFORE I decide if it's a hit or miss, and also to be involved in "rolling" their own damage.

As it is now, the player declares an attack, but there's no immediate feedback, just some mumbling from the DM as the DM determines whether it was a hit, whether it was a crit, and what the final damage was. The little moments of excitement from seeing your PC attack roll, then making a confirmation roll, and finally getting to personally dish out some butt-kicking with your own damage roll are gone.

Is there any way to keep the PC better informed of what's going on step-by-step when they attack? Even better, is there a way to have the PC prompted to "roll" (via a click) his own damage rolls?

If the current d20pro setup were a table-top game, it would mean that the DM would make all the attack and damage rolls behind a screen, then inform you of what happened all at once. It just doesn't feel very much like what we're accustomed to.

Thanks!
    ruanwindstorm

2. Thurgian

Thurgian New Member

There is certainly no requirement that you utilize the D20 dice rolling mechanism, ever.