1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

First Impressions

Discussion in 'Pathfinder' started by Entola, Aug 1, 2012.

1. Entola

Entola Member

I’ve been using MapTools for 3-4 months and really enjoyed it, but it had some very frustrating issues that caused me to start looking at commercial alternatives. On MapTools I had downloaded the Pathfinder Framework, but found I couldn’t trust the math. The stats wouldn’t be quite right or there would be random attack bonus that wasn’t right or the AC wasn’t adding up properly, the whole thing made me question every single number the tokens had. That’s not even mentioning the Java Errors that many of my players got all night long, even with fresh installs of java. It was so bad that I had to move the pieces for them because every time they did, they got an error. However, it was a great intro to VTT.

Which brings me to D20Pro, which I heard about from the Chronicle Podcast and Hero Labs. I ran a very small test encounter last night with two of my players to get a test for how the VTT operated and what their impressions were. It was a smashing success! The players loved it, I loved it, and the whole thing went very smooth. We will see how the full party feel about it on our regular game night this Sunday, which will be the determining factor on my purchase, but if it runs even half as good as it did last night, it’s a sale.

Pros (Not an exhaustive list):
    - I can trust the Math! Many of the stat slots don’t auto fill, so I have to put the number in myself, which is a little more work in the front, but pays off big in the back