1. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with saving effects?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ganbor, Mar 19, 2011.

1. ganbor

ganbor New Member

I'm relatively new to the program and may be missing something simple, but when I started to create several saved effects for common abilities, I discovered that some seem to be overwriting other abilities with similar names. For instance, I created (Rage 1, Rage 2, Rage 3) for the Barbarian, but loading any of them brings up the values for the one I saved last... I tried Renaming to Rage, Greater Rage, Mighty Rage, with the same results; however, multiple levels of Inspire Courage seem to function properly - Has anybody else encountered something similar?

2. Jenouflex

Jenouflex New Member

Getting a similar problem with Power Attack (BAB 0-3) and Power Attack (BAB 4-7) and Power Attack, BAB 8-11.
    Different levels of Cure Light Wounds and Rejuvenate Eidolon save fine.
    I'm going to put it in as a bug since it's clearly not just me.

3. Jenouflex

Jenouflex New Member

Addendum: Here's the workaround for what looks like it's probably an unintended "feature":

Doing some further testing, I think I've narrowed down the problem to the following:

If you attempt to decrease work by loading a prior effect into the effect editor [i.e. when I want to make Attack Effect (level 2) I start by loading Attack Effect (level 1) and then modifying it] then they appear to be saved as two instances of the same effect, and remain linked from that point forward.
    If you don't load ANY effect before making modifications, then it seems to work fine and I don't get the weird linked results.